Becoming A Ghost

Once surrounded by all my friends and family, I now find myself a living ghost. In the shell of a life that I once had prior to suffering a stroke and losing it all.

Arturo Dominguez
8 min readNov 3, 2018
Photo of Niccolò Caranti. “A supposed ghost sitting on a chair”. by Terrasque CC-BY-SA 3.0

For most of my adult life, I felt like I’ve either had it all, or whatever I was after was within my grasp. I’ve had several successful businesses that I would inevitably sell off; an exit strategy that was always planned well in advance.

I would then move on to something else. I’ve been a session musician for a good portion of my life so there was never really any downtime. As I would plan the implementation of my exit strategies, I would already start tossing around ideas for my next business venture.

In the midst of all that, I always had music.

I would home-school my kids, conduct field trips, plan out their curriculum, and even have planned training sessions with my kids' skateboarding careers, sports, or whatever it was that inspired them. They love art, music, science, and were very athletic. Since I was once a semi-pro skateboarder in my younger days, they naturally fell right into that. They would inevitably turn to music as well. Hard not to when you have all that inspiration around you.

--

--

Arturo Dominguez

Journalist covering Congress, Racial Justice, Human Rights, Cuba, Texas | Editor: The Antagonist Magazine |