Reinvention

On reinventing ourselves after life-altering events

Arturo Dominguez
4 min readJan 4, 2019
Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

Life is crazy. No doubt about it. Life is one terrible roller coaster ride. It’s that way for everybody. Rich or poor. Sure, all of our problems are different, but we all struggle with many things. Our own personal demons, so to speak.

Sometimes, life demands that we reinvent ourselves. Adopt a new strategy to achieve what we all strive for. We may all have different goals in life, but all of our goals are meant to accomplish one thing: achieve financial security for ourselves and our kids. We are all well aware of the fact that true freedom comes with financial security. Sadly, in this day and age, we are all slaves to the almighty dollar. So we keep pushing because that’s what we do.

But do we have to measure success by the amount of money we have?

No. We don’t.

I’ve always measured success by the amount of compassion, empathy, and charity I have been able to give in my lifetime. Do I struggle financially? Sure I do. But that’s not an excuse to lead a morally bankrupt life.

Of course, I struggle. Especially since having a stroke several years ago. Which is why I write. This is my own personal reinvention. It’s a good thing I’ve always loved to write, otherwise, I wouldn’t have anything to fall back on. I used…

--

--

Arturo Dominguez

Journalist covering Congress, Racial Justice, Human Rights, Cuba, Texas | Editor: The Antagonist Magazine |